Types of FSC certification

FSC has developed two main kinds of certification: Forest Management (FM) certification and Chain of Custody (CoC) certification. Verification of all FSC requirements is a guarantee that FSC labelled materials and products come from responsible sources.

Forest in Bosnia and Herzegovina
Bruno Marić
Forest manager

Forest Management certification

FSC forest management certification confirms that the forest is being managed in a way that preserves biological diversity and benefits the lives of local people and workers, and is economically viable.

Wood factory

Chain of Custody certification

FSC chain of custody certification provides a credible assurance that products which are sold with an FSC claim originate from well-managed forests, controlled sources, or reclaimed materials.